Skip to content

Poodle Prep

February 19, 2011

As always, the Westminster Dog Show draws much attention and with all the hype I saw a picture of Sparkle, a Standard Poodle, with her fur bound and bundled to protect from water and food damage. How do you not laugh? And how do I not make Sparkle a subject?

And a big ol’ yey goes out to the hound group with this year’s “Best In Show” awarded to Hickory, the Scottish Deerhound.

Click image to enlarge.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 1:24 pm

    Sometimes I wander around the open corridors of the internet and find nothing worthwhile, today I found you and all I can say it makes up for the empty days when I and left with a myriad of worthless sites.
    Your drawings are amazing such talent and humour each one leaves me wanting more but over and above that it makes me go and sharpen the pencils and try that bit harder to improve my own work
    thank you you are an inspiration.
    Blossom

  2. February 20, 2011 2:12 pm

    I’m with Blossom up there! You have such unbelievable talent, Pen! I’m proud to be one of the people who encouraged you to do this blog!

  3. February 20, 2011 2:50 pm

    Blossom and Lisa,
    Thank you both! Messages like yours are true inspiration to me! Sometimes I draw and think, “It’s just stupid to do this…” and then comments like these come through, and it IS worth it. My sincerest thanks!
    Penny

  4. February 22, 2011 3:20 pm

    That’s definitely a blowerupper…funny and nice rendering…

    You asked about printers…the printer I have access to is at school and I think it runs somewhere between 40-60 grand…so not sure that is a viable option for you. If you precut paper and have a kinkoish type store you can get black and white prints pretty cheaply…you just have to make sure you are talking with someone that will actually listen to what you are trying to do…you might get a hack that doesn’t want to change settings for heavier paper and jams their copier up…I tried to use an inkjet once hoping against hope…but unfortunately liquid and inkjet don’t mix…

  5. February 23, 2011 12:08 am

    Haha. Great capture.

    Only a dog would put up with that. I have a pug. He’s fat, bullish and blind in one eye. I can only imagine the look he’d give me if I tried to primp him up.

  6. tamara campeau permalink
    April 18, 2011 7:27 am

    i love this , i have a poddle myself , a brown one , but he is not shaved like that lol!!!

Leave a Reply

