Skip to content

Otters Orchestrating…

March 7, 2011

orange-bellied orioles…

A study of otters for “Tangle” — I wasn’t thrilled with the movement in the first sketch, so I tried something else. I’m happier with these guys, now I just need to incorporate oxen, owls, and octopi… challenging is good.

Click image to enlarge.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Matthew Whitlock permalink
    March 8, 2011 8:00 am

    A great movement! I wish your exercise would allow you to only fill in backround! Don’t diminsh the motion of these guys! Beethoven? Bonnie Raitt? The Wabash Cannonballs? Doesn’t matter-these otters have it going on!

  2. March 8, 2011 10:41 am

    Another beautifully rendered drawing Penelope. The movement works perfectly and follows a cool swirl. I have to get to work on my Warning post for IF!

  3. rubinpingk permalink
    March 8, 2011 5:14 pm

    I can feel the rhythm just looking at them. Very musical indeed.

    They need a song.

    Now you have to write some music using your alliterative verse!

    Fantastic body language as usual, which is saying a lot for otters!

  4. March 9, 2011 10:39 pm

    Oh! Obviously, I’m overwhelmed by your outstanding otters, okay?

    Seriously, these are wonderful…the way you describe the other animals arriving…that could be a fun page by page concept!

  5. March 10, 2011 12:53 pm

    Definitely look forward to all the other elements..very nice rhythm here…it does make me a bit hungry for doritos at this point…but that ain’t a bad thing…

  6. March 12, 2011 11:02 pm

    I have happened on your blog a number of times — without intention– so I must be drawn to your work! I do admire your style and the way you render your subjects. Very well done!

  7. March 15, 2011 9:23 am

    Hi Penelope,
    I loved having you stop by and comment on my blog last night. Glad to know that you too are a member of the Rubin Pingk mutual admiration society. Heehee. I have seen you phenomenal work on Illustration Friday but I swear it is always a direct link to the image so I have never bee able to comment. You are an extremely talented artist and I so admire your work. I am a huge fan of movement and energy which you have mastered so well. I also love the expressions each face holds. So looking forward to following your posts. You are now in my reader.

Leave a Reply

