Skip to content

Wizards of Shoes

March 30, 2011

A top secret birthday event called for a top secret illustration, so mum’s the word.

Just ideas on paper related to a fashionista kitty, a hip gal of tin, a crazy bird that scares, and a country bumpkin’s quest for precious slippers…

Then again in the words of Forest Gump, “Mama always said you could tell an awful lot about a person by the kind of shoes they wear.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 8:13 am

    Great illo! Love all the shoes. The character with the heart on her shirt looks a lot like my grandma. She was a size 12 shoe but managed to appear very lady like!

  2. March 30, 2011 8:54 am

    I SO FREAKING LOVE YOU AND YOUR WORK!!!!!!!! I think this is the first ‘people’ pencil sketch I’ve seen of yours and you are just as adept with capturing character and essence as you are with your ingenious animals. And I am a shoe freak, I love drawing them and adding them to everything – even animals. I love the big feet – my daughter wears a size 12 at the tender age of 12 so we appreciate seeing the ‘sure-footed’ being represented.

    BTW! – your comments the other day were magical. MAGICAL and very much appreciated. It’s funny because I look at you and your work and see all the talent that I feel I am lacking, so to hear you say the same was a big confidence booster after finishing a piece I was totally ambivalent about.

    Big HUGS! And I am so thrilled you are out there being creative, sharing your gifts, and cheering me on.

  3. March 30, 2011 11:18 am

    I know what THIS is for!! hee!

    Adorable and fun!

  4. March 30, 2011 5:46 pm

    Hey! Those are people!

    This is great. I can relate to a love of shoes. I’m currently wearing a pair of Vibram Five Fingers. They’re sooooo comfy. They are my errand shoes.

    The tiered composition makes this feel festive even when I squint my eyes. These women look close. I love the cat woman.

    I’ll keep this quiet. . .

  5. June 18, 2011 9:44 am

    Oh, Penny! lol I’m so enjoying going back through your artwork on your blog. This one made me laugh right outloud–these funny ladies remind me of my sisters and me. LOL We LOVE shoes. LOL What a darling picture! You are one tremendously gifted lady!

Leave a Reply

