Skip to content

Pupner running

April 7, 2011

My way hip, way great husband Matthew gave me the most funnest, bestest toy—a Wacom Cintiq 12WX. It’s basically a touch-screen tablet for drawing digitally. I’ve put the training wheels on and, of course, my first sketch is a pupper on the run. I’m still not sure it can replace the feel of good ol’ pencil and paper, but it sure is a way cool, way useful tool.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 3:59 pm

    Very awesome sketch! Can’t believe it’s done with a Wacom!

  2. April 7, 2011 5:42 pm

    Wow, that’s very impressive! Just yesterday, I was looking at the blog of the incredible illustrator,Renata Liwska. (http://renataliwska.blogspot.com) She uses that Wacom tablet for coloring her hand-drawn illustrations, which I thought was a wonderful way to use the technology. If you dig around in her blog, somewhere there are shots of her process…fascinating. What a wonderful husband you have!

  3. April 8, 2011 11:33 am

    Holy cow! You took to the new tech fast. That is amazing. It proves to me that the truly talented are masters of any medium you choose. My learning curve with the tablet has been slow and arduous…and I stink at paints. I still am in awe of the movement you capture. Truly and forever impressed.

  4. April 8, 2011 5:25 pm

    Wow. That IS great Penny!
    I wouldn’t have guessed it’s not hand drawn.
    I do not think anything ever can replace that feel and touch and character of a pencil.
    Tools like Wacom can definitely add new dimension to art and save time, but won’t let you to create that magical softness and cuddliness of your furry friends.
    You pencil is your magic wand !

  5. April 11, 2011 7:35 pm

    Lucky girl. I’m hip, but alas no Cintiq. It is in the cards tho. My return to digital fare is not far away.

    This is great. I guess you’re back into the swing of things artistically eh? I ought to poke around more often. You’ve gotten two drawings done since last I came.

  6. June 18, 2011 9:38 am

    I can’t believe you did this drawing on a Wacom. I have one, too–but I feel the same way you do about the feel of paper, pencil, brush, pen… I use my Wacom pad mostly for “cloud painting.” I take pictures of clouds–you’d be amazed at the incredible faces, animals, angels, etc., which can be found in the stuff of clouds clouds. Some are complete with eyes–including pupils. I have always wanted to paint like God–His stuff, of course is miraculous. So I figure when I paint cloud art–I get to paint WITH Him. (grin)

    Three years ago I nearly died from a flesh eating staff infection in my foot. I was near death when I cried out to God to save me. He did–miraculously. After that, I started seeing things in clouds–not long after that I realized I could paint them. sometimes I think He directs the clouds into amazing shapes just for me. (grin)

    Well, that’s the end of that story, my dear. I do so love your work. I’m so honored you would write back to me. I mean that. You are truly amazing–one of the greats of our century. I mean that, too. I really do.

    ((hugs)) Have a lovely day!

  7. June 18, 2011 9:39 am

    When I talk about cloud painting, painting with the Creator–I use the actual pictures I take with my camera. I use photoshop to enhance what I see so others can see it too. And the Creator gets all the credit! lol

Leave a Reply

