Skip to content

B: A Bale of Turtles

April 13, 2011

Second drawing illustrating collective nouns for animal groups for the “A to Z April Challenge” from the blog Tossing It Out.” It’s challenging stacking a bunch of turtles, especially the upside down guys.

Click image to enlarge and see details.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 5:44 am

    The perfect bale of turtles for goodness sakes!

  2. April 14, 2011 10:19 am

    I tried stacking doughnuts in a drawing once. It was the sideways ones that gave me the most grief.
    I imagine that was tough to draw since the shells aren’t pliable to they would rock and rest on a tipping point rather than pillow over one another. But, in your typical, fabulous style you executed the bale beautifully.
    I love the grumpy expressions as they shove and jostle.

  3. April 14, 2011 12:36 pm

    Hi Penelope – Those turtles appear to be having a good time! I so appreciate your thoughts about iPad apps on my blog. Thank you so much for the links! I will check them out. Cheers and keep drawing your lovely drawings.

  4. April 14, 2011 6:24 pm

    This is a unique series of drawings.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  5. April 14, 2011 10:09 pm

    This is fantastic! What a complex dynamic. I love the upside down ones, you captured them perfectly.

    That has got to be the slowest brawl this side of slugville.

  6. April 15, 2011 1:31 pm

    Hi Dear!! This is a good challenge, isn’t it? I’m having fun finding flowers and plants in my garden that represent the alphabet!! : )

    I look forward to the rest of the alphabet on here!! : )

    As usual, I adore your illustrations…

  7. April 15, 2011 3:50 pm

    Adorable! The detail is amazing and their expressions so funny. BTW, you left a message on my blog about the pay it forward thing – I’d love to do an art card version, whatever that is? 🙂

  8. May 22, 2011 8:53 pm

    Oh, Penelope–your artwork fills my eyes–which is the greatest compliment I can give. This one is so charming–I can hardly keep from rushing from one drawing to the next…I LOVE your artwork. You are so inspiring.

    Thank you for your sweet comments about my own work. You are an encouragement to me, my dear.

  9. May 24, 2011 11:56 am

    Do you have facebook? I have put a link to your artwork on my page. Take care, my talented Friend!

Leave a Reply

